LAW FIRM OF DAVID N. JOLLY
If you have been arrested for DUI and provided a Breath Test sample over 0.08, over 0.02 (for a minor), over a 0.04 (for a CDL holder driving a commercial vehicle), refused the breath or blood test or had 5 or more nanograms of THC in your blood, you will be dealing with the Government (DOL) in some form. If your license is suspended, do not drive unless you have a valid an ignition interlock license. If you have any questions about the licensing process following a DUI arrest please contact our office in Everett or our Bellinghm Whatcom County DUI defense attorneys directly for free advice. If you have questions directly about the DOL or, need to find information related to licensing, please contact the DOL directly by phone or go to their website. The Department of Licensing takes licensing issues following a driving under the influence arrest very seriously. They act with immediate brutality so get prepared and do so immediately.
To prevent that from occurring automatically, you must request a hearing from DOL within 20 days of the date you were arrested for DUI. When you were released from custody following your DUI arrest, the DUI officer should have punched a hole in your Washington State License (making it into a temporary license, valid for 60 days), given you a copy of the breath test result, and given you a hearing request form.
Unless you send in the hearing request form (and pay a $375 fee, unless indigent) within 20 days of your Washington State DUI arrest, you will lose your Washington State License and have no right to appeal! (In blood test cases, the 20-day time period commences on the day DOL mails you notice of your blood test result)
When mailing your hearing request form to the Department of Licensing, you should use registered or certified mail so that you can prove when you mailed the form (Do not forget to include the $375 hearing fee). Once you have requested a hearing, DOL must provide the hearing (in person or by telephone) within 60 days of the date of arrest. Until the 60th day following your arrest or, until notified that you lost your DOL hearing, your license remains valid and you can drive lawfully (assuming you have no other pending actions against your license).
The DOL’s action proceeds completely independent from any criminal prosecution, and, depending on the nature of the action, a suspension or revocation may run in addition to or at the same time as a suspension or revocation resulting from a criminal conviction.
Hearings & Interviews Section
PO Box 9048
Olympia, WA 98507-9048
Phone: (360) 902-3900
In Whatcom County there is only one DUI Law Firm that has multiple attorneys defending those accused of driving under the influence. The Whatcom County DUI lawyers at the Law Firm of David N. Jolly have more than 20 years of experience fighting for those accused of DUI. David Jolly is also the author of 14 DUI and traffic books and it is this knowledge and experience that is used to defend every one of their clients.
Every court in Whatcom County court demands those arrested for DUI appear in court almost immediately following release from custody. This practice gives individuals very little time to speak to a Bellingham DUI Lawyer regarding their case, their rights and the potential harm to their Washington State driver license. Our Whatcom County DUI attorneys can provide you with helpful information immediately following your arrest. Don't waste your time calling attorneys who do not focus on DUI law, contact the Bellingham DUI attorneys at the Law Firm of David N. Jolly for a complimentary consultation.
Dealing with licensing issues can be difficult and complicated. Please contact our Washington DUI attorneys with any questions related to your licensing problems. The Department of Licensing (DOL) will suspend your license administratively if you are an adult arrested for a Washington State DUI (or physical control) and have a breath or blood test result of .08 or higher; if you have 5 nanograms of TCH in your blood; or if you are under age 21 and your test result is .02 or higher. Your Washington State license will be revoked for at least one year if you refuse the breath or blood test following your Washington State DUI Arrest.
These rules apply to hearings conducted pursuant to RCW 46.20.308.
As used in this chapter, unless the context requires otherwise, the term:
(1) "Department" refers to the department of licensing;
(2) "Hearing" means a formal hearing as authorized and conducted pursuant to RCW 46.20.308(8);
(3) "Hearing office" refers to the physical location from which a hearing officer conducts hearings under RCW 46.20.308. Where appropriate, the term "hearing office" also refers to the staff assigned to a hearing office;
(4) "Hearing officer" means a person who is appointed by the director of the department to conduct hearings under RCW 46.20.308;
(5) "Legal representative" means an attorney licensed and authorized to practice law in the state of Washington;
(6) "Petitioner" refers to an individual subject to the provisions of RCW 46.20.308 who has requested a hearing.
Computation of time.
In computing any period of time prescribed or allowed by any applicable statute or rule, RCW 1.12.040 shall apply, except in the service of subpoenas as provided in WAC 308-103-090.
Requests for hearings.
The request for a hearing shall be in compliance with the following requirements:
(1) The petitioner must submit his or her formal request for hearing:
(a) Within twenty days of the date notice is given under RCW 46.20.308(6) if the petitioner submitted to a breath test;
(b) Within twenty days of the date notice is given under RCW 46.20.308(6) if the petitioner is alleged to have refused the breath or blood test; or
(c) Within twenty days of the date notice of the department's intention to suspend, revoke, or deny the petitioner's license, permit, or privilege to drive is given in the event notice is given by the department following a blood test;
(2) If a request for a hearing is mailed, it must be received by the department within seven days of the date the request was postmarked in order to be considered timely under this section. This provision may be waived if the request is received by the department within twenty days of the date of arrest, or within twenty days of the date notice is given in the event notice is given by the department following a blood test, or if the petitioner and the department agree to waive the sixty-day hearing requirement;
(3) The request for a hearing shall be in writing. The petitioner may use the form provided by the department for this purpose or any other writing. The petitioner may request a hearing online if the petitioner meets the qualifications described on the web site at www.dol.wa.gov;
(4) The hearing request form provided by the department shall include a statement that if the parties or witness(es) are hearing or speech impaired and/or non-English speaking, a qualified interpreter will be appointed at no cost to the parties or witnesses. The form shall include a section where the petitioner may request an interpreter and where he or she may identify the language and/or nature of the interpretive services needed;
(5) The request for hearing shall include the following information with respect to the petitioner:
(a) Full name;
(b) Mailing address;
(c) Daytime telephone number, including area code;
(d) Date of birth; and
(e) Driver's license number;
(6) If petitioner will have legal representation at the administrative hearing, the request shall also include the legal representative's name, mailing address, and daytime telephone number, including area code;
(7) The request for a hearing shall be submitted to the Department of Licensing, Hearings & Interviews, P.O. Box 9048, Olympia, Washington 98507-9048. If the petitioner is entitled to or applies for a waiver of the filing fee because of indigence, the request must be submitted to the Department of Licensing, Hearing & Interviews, P.O. Box 9031, Olympia, Washington 98507-9031;
(8) The written request for hearing shall be accompanied by the applicable nonrefundable filing fee, unless the petitioner is entitled to a waiver of the filing fee because of indigence, in which case a request and justification for the fee waiver shall accompany the hearing request;
(9) A petitioner who has been denied a court-appointed attorney on the underlying related criminal charge because he or she is deemed "not indigent" is not eligible for a fee waiver;
(10) Indigence may be established as follows:
(a) Written verification of court-appointed legal counsel on the associated underlying criminal charge;
(b) Written verification of current involuntary commitment to a public mental health facility;
(c) Verification of current receipt of general assistance, temporary assistance for needy families, refugee resettlement benefits, food stamps, supplemental security income, or medicaid; or
(d) Submission and approval of the department's "Application for Waiver of Hearing Fee" form;
(11) Failure to timely submit a hearing request and/or failure to include the filing fee or application for waiver with the hearing request shall be deemed a waiver of the petitioner's right to a hearing; and
(12) If a request for hearing is denied, the department shall notify the petitioner and the petitioner's legal representative, if any, stating the reason(s) for denial.
Scheduling—Notice of hearing.
(1) Upon receipt of a timely request for a hearing, the department shall schedule a telephone hearing within sixty days following the arrest or following the date the notice has been given by the department following a blood test, unless otherwise agreed to by the department and the person.
(2) The petitioner or petitioner's legal representative may state a preferred range of hearing dates or unavailable dates. To the extent that such requests can be accommodated within the applicable time limits and hearing officer availability, the department will attempt to do so.
(3) The department shall mail a hearing notice to the petitioner or petitioner's legal representative at least ten days prior to the date of the hearing.
(4) The department's scheduling notice and brochure will include the assigned hearing officer's name, a phone number at which he or she may be contacted, and other information concerning the administrative hearing. The department's notice will also include a telephone number and a TDD number that any party or witness may call to request special accommodations.
(5) The petitioner or petitioner's legal representative may request that all or part of the hearing be conducted "in person." Such request must be in writing stating the reasons therefore and directed to the assigned hearing officer immediately upon receipt of the scheduling notice. The hearing officer will have the sole discretion to grant or deny this request, and may require a waiver of the requirement that the hearing be held within sixty days, the requirement that the hearing be held in the county of arrest, or both requirements as a condition to granting the request.
(6) Each party shall ensure that his or her address and telephone number on file is correct and shall immediately notify the department and/or hearing officer of any change of address or telephone number that occurs during the course of the proceeding.
(7) The administrative hearing may be reassigned to a different hearing officer without notice to the parties.
Notice of appearance.
If a petitioner has legal representation at the administrative hearing, the department shall be provided with the legal representative's name, address, and telephone number. The department may require the legal representative to file a written notice of appearance or to provide documentation that an absent petitioner has authorized the legal representative to appear on the party's behalf. The legal representative shall file a notice of withdrawal upon withdrawal of representation.
(1) After a hearing has been scheduled, it may be continued, rescheduled, or adjourned only at the discretion of the hearing officer.
(2) Requests for a continuance, reschedule, or adjournment must be made in writing, to the assigned hearing officer, and shall include the basis for the request.
(3) Except in the case of an emergency, the hearing officer must receive the continuance request at least two business days before the scheduled hearing. Absent an emergency, requests made with less than two business days' notice may be summarily denied.
(4) The hearing officer may continue, adjourn, or reschedule at any time, including on the date of the administrative hearing.
(5) Hearings that are continued, rescheduled, or adjourned may be reset to a date within sixty days of the driver's arrest, or within sixty days of the date notice of the department's intention to suspend, revoke, or deny the petitioner's license, permit, or privilege to drive is given in the event notice is given by the department following a blood test, unless a written waiver of the sixty-day hearing requirement of RCW 46.20.308 accompanies the written continuance request, or unless the petitioner is deemed to have "waived" the statutory time frame.
(6) A petitioner is deemed to have waived the statutory requirement that the hearing be held within sixty days if petitioner requests an action that cannot be accommodated within the sixty-day period.
(7) A party shall not consider a hearing continued, rescheduled, or adjourned until notified by the hearing officer or his or her designee.
(8) The hearing officer may require the party who requests a continuance, reschedule, or adjournment to submit documentary evidence that substantiates the reason for the request.
(9) A second request for a continuance, reschedule, or adjournment will only be granted in the event of an emergency and at the discretion of the assigned hearing officer.
(10) Notwithstanding any provisions of this section to the contrary, a hearing officer may continue a hearing in the event a law enforcement officer who has been subpoenaed as a witness fails to appear. The hearing officer must continue a hearing in the event a law enforcement officer who has been subpoenaed as a witness fails to appear and the petitioner is a holder of a commercial driver's license or was operating a commercial motor vehicle at the time of the driver's arrest. A hearing continued under this subsection must be adjourned until such time as the subpoena may be enforced under RCW 7.21.060. Action taken by the hearing officer to enforce a subpoena issued on the petitioner's behalf is considered to be at the request of the petitioner for purposes of WAC 308-103-070(6).
Deferred prosecutions—Cancellation of hearings.
(1) In the event a petitioner elects to seek a deferred prosecution, he or she may be eligible for a stay. The petitioner must not have previously entered a deferred prosecution program, must have taken the breath or blood test, and must indicate that he or she intends to seek a deferred prosecution. If the petitioner is eligible, a stay of the administrative action shall be entered on the driver's record pursuant to RCW 46.20.308(9).
(2) If a stay is entered under subsection (1) of this section, the hearing will proceed and the results will be sent to the petitioner. As provided by RCW46.20.308(9), the stay of the action shall continue but any appeal of the Findings and Conclusion must be undertaken within thirty days of service of the results.
(3) If the petitioner elects to cancel his or her request for a hearing, he or she must notify the department in writing of his or her intent to do so. Upon receiving such a request for a withdrawal, the department shall proceed with the administrative action against the petitioner's driving privilege, unless a stay has been entered on the driver's record due to the filing of a notice of Intent to Seek a Deferred Prosecution.
(1) Subpoenas shall be issued and enforced, and witness fees paid, as provided in RCW 46.20.308(7). All subpoenas shall direct the witness to appear by telephone unless otherwise agreed to by the hearing officer.
(2) Every subpoena shall be submitted on a form approved by the department, available on the internet at www.dol.wa.gov, and must be signed and issued by a hearing officer. An approved form may be obtained from the department.
(a) A subpoena to a person to provide testimony at a hearing shall specify the date and time set for hearing.
(b) A subpoena duces tecum requesting a person to produce designated books, documents, or things under his or her control shall specify a time and place for producing the books, documents, or things. That time and place may be the time and place set for hearing, or another reasonably convenient time and place in advance of the hearing.
(3) A subpoena must be personally served by a suitable person over eighteen years of age, by exhibiting and reading it to the witness, or by giving him or her a copy thereof, or by leaving such copy at the place of his or her abode. Proof of service shall be made by affidavit or declaration under penalty of perjury. Service by certified mail must be preapproved by the hearing officer. Service of a subpoena on a law enforcement officer may be effected by serving the subpoena upon the officer's employer.
(4) The hearing officer may condition issuance of the subpoena upon advancement by the person in whose behalf the subpoena is issued of the reasonable cost of producing the books, papers, documents, or tangible things.
(5) A subpoena must be properly served ten days prior to the date of the hearing, excluding weekends and holidays, in order to have full force and effect.
(1) All rulings upon objections to the admissibility of evidence shall be made in accordance with the provisions of these rules.
(2) When only portions of a document are to be relied upon, the offering party shall identify the pertinent excerpts and state the purpose for which such materials will be offered. Only the excerpts, in the form of copies, shall be received in the record. However, the whole of the original documents, except any portions containing confidential material protected by law, shall be made available for examination and for use by all parties.
(3) The refusal of a witness to answer any question which has been ruled to be proper shall, in the discretion of the hearing officer, be ground for striking all testimony previously given by such witness on related matter.
(4) Evidence is admissible if received prior to, or during, the hearing.
If the petitioner wishes to submit video evidence, the petitioner shall be responsible for the costs of preparing a copy to be admitted as evidence. Video evidence shall be submitted sufficiently in advance of the hearing to allow the hearing officer the opportunity to review it prior to the hearing. The hearing officer may require a time waiver from the petitioner in order to reschedule the hearing and satisfy this provision when needed. Video evidence must be submitted in a format which allows it to be viewed on the department's equipment. Any costs associated with this requirement is to be the responsibility of the petitioner.
(1) The hearing officer shall rule on the admissibility and weight to be accorded to all evidence submitted at the hearing. Evidence, including hearsay evidence, is admissible if in the judgment of the hearing officer it is the kind of evidence on which reasonably prudent persons are accustomed to rely on in the conduct of their affairs. The hearing officer may exclude evidence that is irrelevant, immaterial, or unduly repetitious. The admissibility of evidence shall be liberally construed to effect the intent and purpose of the hearings covered by these rules.
(2) Law enforcement officers or other persons with knowledge relevant to the hearing may appear and testify without notice. Such testimony shall not preclude the admissibility of any documents submitted.
(3) Documentary evidence may be received in the form of copies or excerpts, or by incorporation by reference.
(4) Official notice may be taken of (a) any judicially cognizable facts, (b) technical or scientific facts within the agency's specialized knowledge, and (c) codes or standards that have been adopted by an agency of the United States, of this state or of another state, or by a nationally recognized organization or association. Parties shall be notified either before or during the hearing of the material so noticed and the sources thereof and they shall be afforded an opportunity to contest the facts and materials so noticed. A party proposing that official notice be taken may be required to produce a copy of the material to be noticed.
Format and length for briefs.
(1) The text of any brief must be typed or printed in a proportionally spaced typeface and must appear in print as twelve point or larger type with no more than ten characters per inch and double-spaced. The same typeface and print size should be standard throughout the brief, except that footnotes may appear in print as ten point or larger type and be the equivalent of single-spaced. Quotations may be the equivalent of single-spaced. Except for materials in an appendix, the typewritten or printed material in the brief may not be reduced or condensed by photographic or other means.
(2) Briefs shall not exceed twenty pages. For the purpose of determining compliance with this rule, appendices are not included. For good cause, the hearing officer may grant a motion to file an over-length brief.
(1) When an impaired person as defined in chapter 2.42 RCW or a non-English-speaking person as defined in chapter 2.43 RCW is a party or witness in an adjudicative proceeding, the department shall appoint an interpreter to assist the party or witness during the hearing. Appointment, qualifications, waiver, compensation, visual recording, and ethical standards of interpreters in hearings are governed by the provisions of chapters 2.42 and 2.43 RCW.
(a) If a hearing impaired person is a party or witness to an adjudicative proceeding, a qualified interpreter shall be appointed to interpret the proceedings. Under RCW 2.42.110, a "qualified interpreter" means a visual language interpreter who is certified by the state or is certified by the registry of interpreters for the deaf.
(b) Whenever an interpreter is appointed to assist a non-English-speaking person, a qualified or certified interpreter shall be appointed to assist the person during the hearing. Under RCW 2.43.020, a "qualified interpreter" means a person who is able readily to interpret or translate spoken and written English for a non-English-speaking person. A "certified interpreter" means an interpreter who is certified by the office of the administrator for the courts.
(2) Relatives of any participant in a proceeding and employees of the department involved in a proceeding shall not be appointed as interpreters in the proceeding unless authorized by the petitioner.
(3) Mode of interpretation:
(a) The consecutive mode of foreign language interpretation shall be used unless the hearing officer and interpreter agree that simultaneous interpretation will advance fairness and efficiency;
(b) Interpreters for hearing impaired persons shall use the simultaneous mode of interpretation unless an intermediary interpreter is needed. If an intermediary interpreter is needed, interpreters shall use the mode that the interpreter considers to provide the most accurate and effective communication with the hearing impaired person;
(c) When an impaired or non-English-speaking person is a party to a proceeding, the interpreter shall translate all statements made by other hearing participants, unless waived by the petitioner. The hearing officer shall ensure that sufficient extra time is provided to permit translation and the hearing officer shall ensure that the interpreter translates the entire proceeding to the party to the extent that the party has the same opportunity to understand all statements made during the proceeding as a nonimpaired or English-speaking party listening to uninterpreted statements would have.
(4) The department shall pay interpreter fees and expenses.
(5) Every interpreter shall, before beginning to interpret, take an oath that a true interpretation will be made to the person being examined of all the proceedings in a language or in a manner which the person understands, and that the interpreter will repeat the statements of the person being examined to the hearing officer conducting the proceedings, in the English language, to the best of the interpreter's skill and judgment.
Testimony under oath or affirmation.
Every person called as a witness and who is giving oral testimony in a hearing shall swear or affirm that the testimony he or she is about to give in the hearing shall be the truth according to the provisions of RCW 5.28.020 through 5.28.060. If the witness is testifying from outside the jurisdiction, the hearing officer may require the witness to agree to be bound by the laws of the state of Washington for purposes of the oath or affirmation.
Conduct of hearings.
Hearings are open to public observation. To the extent that a hearing is conducted by telephone or other electronic means, the availability of public observation is satisfied by giving members of the public an opportunity to hear or inspect the agency's record. The hearing officer's authority includes, but shall not be limited to, the authority to:
(1) Determine the order of presentation of evidence;
(2) Administer oaths and affirmations;
(3) Issue subpoenas pursuant to RCW 46.20.308(7);
(4) Rule on procedural matters, objections, and motions;
(5) Rule on offers of proof and receive relevant evidence;
(6) Order the exclusion of witnesses upon a showing of good cause;
(7) Afford the petitioner the opportunity to respond, present evidence, conduct cross-examination, and submit rebuttal evidence. The hearing officer may question witnesses to develop any facts deemed necessary to fairly and adequately decide the matter;
(8) Call additional witnesses and request and/or obtain additional exhibits deemed necessary to complete the record and receive such evidence subject to full opportunity for cross-examination and rebuttal by the petitioner;
(9) Examine and admit the official records of the department, subject to full opportunity, including the opportunity to request a continuance if needed, for cross-examination and rebuttal by the petitioner;
(10) Examine and admit public records, including but not limited to maps, policy and procedure manuals, breath testing equipment manuals and the Washington state patrol breath test section web site at any time before and during the hearing, subject to full opportunity, including the opportunity to request a continuance if needed, for cross-examination and rebuttal by the petitioner;
(11) Regulate the course of the hearing and take any appropriate action necessary to maintain order during the hearing;
(12) Permit or require oral argument or briefs and determine the time limits for submission thereof;
(13) Issue an order of default;
(14) Recess the hearing to a later time to accommodate scheduling conflicts. Hearings are ordinarily scheduled to be one hour in length;
(15) Take any other action necessary and authorized by any applicable statute or rule; and
(16) Waive any requirement of these rules unless petitioner shows that he or she would be prejudiced by such a waiver.
The petitioner or the petitioner's legal representative on petitioner's behalf is required to attend the hearing, either in person or by telephone. If that appearance is by telephone, the petitioner or the petitioner's legal representative must be available at the number provided to the department on the hearing request form and referenced in the scheduling letter, or as subsequently modified, at the time and date designated for the hearing on the scheduling letter sent by the department to the petitioner, or as subsequently rescheduled. If the petitioner or petitioner's legal representative has not appeared within twenty minutes of the time scheduled for the hearing, the hearing officer shall enter an order of default. A default shall be deemed a withdrawal of the petitioner's request for a hearing and the action of the department on the petitioner's license shall be sustained.
(1) Every decision and order shall:
(a) Be correctly captioned as to the name of the department of licensing and name of the proceeding;
(b) Designate all parties and representatives participating in the proceeding;
(c) Contain a final order disposing of all contested issues; and
(d) Contain a statement describing the right to appeal.
(2) In the event the original hearing officer is unavailable, the department may assign the case to another hearing officer to either hear the case if the record has not closed, or in a case where the record is closed, make a determination as to the finding of fact and conclusions of law based on the record submitted.
Reconsideration and appeals.
(1) The petitioner's rights to appeal are provided in RCW 46.20.308(8), and nothing herein is intended to detract from that statute.
(2) Grounds for a petition for reconsideration are limited to evidence or legal argument which are material to the petitioner and were not produced at the time of the hearing, or for other good and sufficient reason as determined by the hearing officer.
(3) The petition must state with particularity any new evidence or new legal argument that is proposed and why it could not have been discovered using due diligence prior to the hearing. The petition must specify with particularity the portions of the initial order to which the petition applies.
(4) A petition for reconsideration of a final order shall be filed with the hearing officer who signed that final order, within ten days of the date the final order is mailed to the petitioner.
(5) The petition shall be reviewed by the hearing officer who entered the original final order, if reasonably available. If the original hearing officer assigned to the case is unavailable, the department, within its discretion, may assign the case to another hearing officer to preside over the motion. The disposition shall be in the form of a written order denying the petition, granting the petition and dissolving or modifying the final order, or granting the petition and setting the matter for further hearing.
(6) If the petition is granted in whole or in part, a new order shall be issued in the same form as the original order, and shall include the designation "amended" in its title. This amended order shall reference the petition for reconsideration in its preamble, which sets out what the hearing officer considered. Any amended order shall include the "Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law" from the original final order with amendments.
(7) The relief granted pursuant to a petition for reconsideration is limited to review of the designated evidence and/or argument as identified in the petition. At the hearing officer's discretion, a supplemental hearing may be scheduled. Such a petition is not grounds for a new hearing, and the record already established shall remain undisturbed.
(8) A petition for reconsideration does not stay the department's action on the petitioner's driving privilege as ordered by the original final order. A petitioner seeking a stay must file a separate petition for that purpose. The hearing officer will grant a stay only if the hearing officer determines that it is likely that the petitioner will prevail and the action be reversed and that denying the stay will create irreparable harm to the petitioner. If the hearing officer grants such a petition for a stay, the hearing officer shall sign an order releasing the action and crediting any time already served, and subsequently sign an order sustaining or reversing the action, as determined by the amended final order. Disposition denying a stay is not subject to review.
(9) An amended final order shall be issued either denying reconsideration or, in the event reconsideration is granted, dissolving or modifying the original final order. The date of the amended final order begins the thirty-day period for the petitioner to appeal the amended final order, and there is no longer a right to appeal the original final order.
(10) The filing of a petition for reconsideration is not a prerequisite for filing an appeal. An order denying reconsideration is not subject to appeal.
The Skagit County DUI attorneys at the Law Firm of David N. Jolly have more than 20 years of experience helping individuals charged with DUI and the many driving problems that come from such a condition. Skagit County has a team of DUI Troopers and police officers who are targeting DUI drivers in Mt. Vernon, Anacortes, Burlington and Sedro Woolley. Local prosecuting attorneys also take DUI cases very seriously. This is only of many reasons why you must consult with an experienced Mt. Vernon DUI lawyer if you are arrested for DUI. Skagit County is particularly well known for their DUI emphasis and zero tolerance for such activity. Contact our Mt Vernon DUI attorneys for more information about your driver's license following a DUI arrest.
If you have been arrested for DUI and have questions about your Washington State Driver's License please contact one of the Skagit County DUI lawyers for a free consultation.
Type your paragraph here.
(425) 493-1115 | (360) 336-8722
1. Whether you were under lawful arrest.
2. Whether an officer had reasonable grounds to believe you had been driving or were in actual physical control of a motor vehicle in this state while:
i. Under the influence of intoxicating liquor or any drug.
ii. Having alcohol in your system of 0.02 or more and were under the age of 21.
3. Whether you were advised of your rights and warnings as required by RCW 46.20.308(2).
4. Whether you refused to submit to the test. or If the test was administered, whether the test indicated an alcohol / THC concentration of:
i. 0.08 or more if you were age 21 or over, or
ii. 0.02 or more if you were under 21;
iii. 5 nanograms or more of THC if you were over 21 years, or
iv. Any nanograms of TCH if you were under 21 years of age.
The 2018 DOL Hearing Handbook for Lawyers is over 100 pages and details every possible defense at these very important yet difficult to win hearings. We only published a small number of these books and they are all gone, except for a number that we use at our offices.
For more information regarding the Rules of Procedure for DOL Hearings, see the bottom of this licensing webpage.
The Department of Licensing in Washington has significant powers over drivers in this State. Following a DUI arrest the DOL is notified of the driver's arrest and immediately places the driver's status as temporary. The driver has only 20 days to request an Administrative Hearing in order to keep their driving privilege. If the driver does not request the hearing, their license will be suspended 60 days following the arrest for DUI.
The DOL Hearing is by telephone and the hearing examiner will consider the following:
DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING
If you are convicted of a DUI (or your license was suspended in the administrative hearing) you will be required to obtain SR-22 automobile liability insurance for a period of at least three years. When you are eligible to have your license reinstated you must go to the Department of Licensing and make an application for reinstatement. The SR-22 form must be taken to your insurance company who then completes the form and mails it directly to the Department of Licensing. The insurance company acknowledges responsibility for reporting any lapse in insurance coverage directly to the Department of Licensing, which may result in an additional suspension of your driver’s license.
There are restrictions that coincide with this type of insurance. Such restrictions include the ability to drive only specific cars that are actually included in the policy. Practically speaking however, the biggest effect that SR-22 insurance has is increased insurance costs. How much more expensive is dependent on your age, the type of car being insured, driving record, type of coverage, limits of coverage, and the insurance company itself. The higher risk, and therefore higher cost, refers to the fact that the insurance is covering a convicted DUI
driver. The requirement of having high-risk insurance for a period of at least three years is one of the harshest economic consequences of being arrested for DUI.
Call for a Free Consultation: (425) 493-1115 | (360) 336-8722
LAW FIRM OF DAVID N. JOLLY - OFFICE LOCATIONS
Whatcom County: 218 W. Champion St., Bellingham, WA 98225
Skagit County: 410 Myrtle St., Mount Vernon, WA 98273
Snohomish County: 2731 Wetmore, #401, Everett, WA 98201
Mon-Fri 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
GET IN TOUCH
Law Firm of David N. Jolly. All Right Reserved.
WEB | SEO
The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship. Further, if you are not a United States Citizens we strongly encourage consulting with an immigration attorney to determine how a criminal charge may affect your immigration status.