DUI Convictions

An Ignition Interlock Device is required for all DUI and Physical Control convictions, including cases where no alcohol was involved.  Some of the restrictions and conditions are below but as always, contact a local
DUI attorney in Bellingham or Everett.

Period of Ignition Interlock Device Restriction

-1 year for a first Ignition Interlock restriction;
-5 years for a second Ignition Interlock restriction;
-10 years for a third Ignition Interlock restriction.

Court is required to order the Defendant to apply for an Ignition Interlock License on all DUI convictions, including drug DUI convictions

Department of Licensing Quirks

The “Good Defendant” rule:  Before the DOL will remove the DUI conviction based ignition interlock restriction the DOL must receive a notice (declaration) from the Ignition Interlock provider that the DUI defendant has been good for 4 months prior to the removal date (i. no positive readings in the machine):  RCW 46.20.720

The 4 consecutive months there must not be:

-an attempt to start the vehicle with a breath test of 0.04 or more;
-failure to take or pass any required restart; or
-failure of the person to appear at the ignition interlock device vender when required for maintenance, repair, calibration, monitoring, inspection, or replacement of the device.

Deferred Prosecution

Defendants with BAC readings (if they send in the Intent to Seek DP):

  • Defendants will need the Ignition Interlock Device for 1 year
  • Defendants will not need SR22 insurance
  • Defendants will not receive a license suspension


However, if it is a Refusal DUI:

  • Cannot “stay” a suspension by filing an Intent to Seek DP
  • Must win the DOL hearing to keep driver’s license


Drug DPs:

  • The court is not required to order an Ignition Interlock Device (but the DOL may still order one installed)


Employer Owned Vehicle Exemption

If DUI Defendant restricted by Ignition Interlock License or Ignition Interlock Device they can drive an employee vehicle on:

-”vehicles owned, leased, or rented by a person’s employer and on those vehicles whose care and/or maintenance is the temporary responsibility of the employer, and driven at the direction of a person’s employer as a requirement of employment during work hours.”  RCW 46.20.385
-The DUI Defendant must provide notice to the DOL by way of a signed declaration from the employer.

Ignition Interlock License Eligibility

To be eligible for an Ignition Interlock License a DUI Defendant must:

-DUI Defendant has had a valid Washington driver license or is on active military duty in Washington;
-DUI Defendant has a Washington State residence address; and
-DUI Defendant’s current suspension or revocation dos not include MIP, Reckless Driving or DWLS 1

To apply for an Ignition Interlock License the DUI Defendant must:

-Install an Ignition Interlock Device on every car he/she intends on driving;
-Provide proof of SR22 insurance; and
-Send in an Ignition Interlock License application with $100 fee

Ignition interlock driver's license—Application—Eligibility—Cancellation—Costs—Rules.


(1)(a) Any person licensed under this chapter or who has a valid driver's license from another state, who is convicted of: (i) A violation of RCW 46.61.502 or 46.61.504 or an equivalent local or out-of-state statute or ordinance, or (ii) a violation of RCW 46.61.520(1)(a) or an equivalent local or out-of-state statute or ordinance, or (iii) a conviction for a violation of RCW 46.61.520(1) (b) or (c) if the conviction is the result of a charge that was originally filed as a violation of RCW 46.61.520(1)(a), or (iv) RCW 46.61.522(1)(b) or an equivalent local or out-of-state statute or ordinance, or (v) RCW 46.61.522(1) (a) or (c) if the conviction is the result of a charge that was originally filed as a violation of RCW 46.61.522(1)(b) committed while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or any drug, or (vi) who has had or will have his or her license suspended, revoked, or denied under RCW 46.20.3101, or who is otherwise permitted under subsection (8) of this section, may submit to the department an application for an ignition interlock driver's license. The department, upon receipt of the prescribed fee and upon determining that the petitioner is eligible to receive the license, may issue an ignition interlock driver's license.
(b) A person may apply for an ignition interlock driver's license anytime, including immediately after receiving the notices under RCW 46.20.308 or after his or her license is suspended, revoked, or denied.
(c) An applicant under this subsection shall provide proof to the satisfaction of the department that a functioning ignition interlock device has been installed on all vehicles operated by the person.
(i) The department shall require the person to maintain the device on all vehicles operated by the person and shall restrict the person to operating only vehicles equipped with the device, for the remainder of the period of suspension, revocation, or denial. Subject to the provisions of RCW 46.20.720(3)(b)(ii), the installation of an ignition interlock device is not necessary on vehicles owned, leased, or rented by a person's employer and on those vehicles whose care and/or maintenance is the temporary responsibility of the employer, and driven at the direction of a person's employer as a requirement of employment during working hours. The person must provide the department with a declaration pursuant to RCW9A.72.085 from his or her employer stating that the person's employment requires the person to operate a vehicle owned by the employer or other persons during working hours.
(ii) Subject to any periodic renewal requirements established by the department under this section and subject to any applicable compliance requirements under this chapter or other law, an ignition interlock driver's license granted upon a suspension or revocation under RCW 46.61.5055 or 46.20.3101 extends through the remaining portion of any concurrent or consecutive suspension or revocation that may be imposed as the result of administrative action and criminal conviction arising out of the same incident.
(iii) The time period during which the person is licensed under this section shall apply on a day-for-day basis toward satisfying the period of time the ignition interlock device restriction is required under RCW46.20.720, 46.61.5055, 10.05.140, 46.61.500(3), and 46.61.5249(4). Beginning with incidents occurring on or after September 1, 2011, when calculating the period of time for the restriction under RCW 46.20.720(2) or (3), the department must also give the person a day-for-day credit for the time period, beginning from the date of the incident, during which the person kept an ignition interlock device installed on all vehicles the person operates. For the purposes of this subsection (1)(c)(iii), the term "all vehicles" does not include vehicles that would be subject to the employer exception under RCW 46.20.720(3).
(2) An applicant for an ignition interlock driver's license who qualifies under subsection (1) of this section is eligible to receive a license only if the applicant files satisfactory proof of financial responsibility under chapter 46.29 RCW.
(3) Upon receipt of evidence that a holder of an ignition interlock driver's license granted under this subsection no longer has a functioning ignition interlock device installed on all vehicles operated by the driver, the director shall give written notice by first-class mail to the driver that the ignition interlock driver's license shall be canceled. If at any time before the cancellation goes into effect the driver submits evidence that a functioning ignition interlock device has been installed on all vehicles operated by the driver, the cancellation shall be stayed. If the cancellation becomes effective, the driver may obtain, at no additional charge, a new ignition interlock driver's license upon submittal of evidence that a functioning ignition interlock device has been installed on all vehicles operated by the driver.
(4) A person aggrieved by the decision of the department on the application for an ignition interlock driver's license may request a hearing as provided by rule of the department.
(5) The director shall cancel an ignition interlock driver's license after receiving notice that the holder thereof has been convicted of operating a motor vehicle in violation of its restrictions, no longer meets the eligibility requirements, or has been convicted of or found to have committed a separate offense or any other act or omission that under this chapter would warrant suspension or revocation of a regular driver's license. The department must give notice of the cancellation as provided under RCW 46.20.245. A person whose ignition interlock driver's license has been canceled under this section may reapply for a new ignition interlock driver's license if he or she is otherwise qualified under this section and pays the fee required under RCW 46.20.380.
(6)(a) Unless costs are waived by the ignition interlock company or the person is indigent under RCW10.101.010, the applicant shall pay the cost of installing, removing, and leasing the ignition interlock device and shall pay an additional fee of twenty dollars per month. Payments shall be made directly to the ignition interlock company. The company shall remit the additional twenty dollar fee to the department.
(b) The department shall deposit the proceeds of the twenty dollar fee into the ignition interlock device revolving account. Expenditures from the account may be used only to administer and operate the ignition interlock device revolving account program. The department shall adopt rules to provide monetary assistance according to greatest need and when funds are available.
(7) The department shall adopt rules to implement ignition interlock licensing. The department shall consult with the administrative office of the courts, the state patrol, the Washington association of sheriffs and police chiefs, ignition interlock companies, and any other organization or entity the department deems appropriate.
(8)(a) Any person licensed under this chapter who is convicted of a violation of RCW 46.61.500 when the charge was originally filed as a violation of RCW 46.61.502 or 46.61.504, or an equivalent local ordinance, may submit to the department an application for an ignition interlock driver's license under this section.
(b) A person who does not have any driver's license under this chapter, but who would otherwise be eligible under this section to apply for an ignition interlock license, may submit to the department an application for an ignition interlock license. The department may require the person to take any driver's licensing examination under this chapter and may require the person to also apply and qualify for a temporary restricted driver's license under RCW 46.20.391.
[2015 2nd sp.s. c 3 § 3; 2013 2nd sp.s. c 35 § 20; 2012 c 183 § 8; 2011 c 293 § 1; 2010 c 269 § 1; 2008 c 282 § 9.]


IGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICE

Snohomish County DUI Attorney | Law Firm of David N. Jolly

IGNITION INTERLOCK HELP

An Ignition Interlock Driver License (IIL) allows you to drive vehicles equipped with an ignition interlock device while your regular license is suspended or revoked for an alcohol-related DUI or Physical Control.  The details follow, but be certain to talk with your attorney due to the complexity of this new option.

Requirements

To be eligible for an IIL, your driving record must show all of the following:

You’ve been arrested or convicted of any of the following:

DUI or Physical Control involving drugs or alcohol
Reckless Driving
Vehicular Assault involving drugs or alcohol
Vehicular Homicide involving drugs or alcohol

Your current suspension or revocation doesn’t include any of the following:

Minor in Possession
Habitual Traffic Offender (Suspended 1st degree)
You have a Washington State residence address.
You have an unexpired license, or have applied and passed testing for a Washington license.

Vehicles that require an Interlock device
While driving with an IIL, you must maintain an interlock device on all vehicles you drive, including employer’s vehicles you drive during work hours. You cannot drive a commercial motor vehicle while you have an IIL.

Work Vehicles
If you drive vehicles owned by your employer during work hours, the vehicles must be equipped with an interlock device.  However, this requirement may be waived if your employer signs an Employer Declaration for Ignition Interlock Waiver.   You must send to the DOL a copy of the signed declaration before you drive your employer's vehicles, and you must carry a copy of the declaration with you whenever you drive a work vehicle that isn't equipped with an interlock device. You must not drive an employer owned vehicle for the first 30 days, however.

IID TIPS & TOOLS

Ignition Interlock License

ignition interlock - things you must know

(425) 493-1115 | (360) 293-2275

iGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICES AND YOUR DUI CASE

The ignition interlock device (IID, or breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BIID)) is gaining popularity in governmental circles, court systems, and advocates against the crime of driving under the influence.  The device is a breath test type apparatus that is connected to the vehicle's dashboard, or more correctly to its ignition mechanism.  The instrument requires the driver to provide a breath sample before allowing the vehicle to start.  If the breath sample renders a clean result (i.e. a blood alcohol concentration reading below the permitted amount (usually, 0.00, 0.02, or 0.04 per cent) the vehicle’s engine will start.  Alternatively, if the driver provides a breath sample that is over the required amount then the vehicle will not turn over and the failed attempt will be reported to the governing agency.

While the vehicle is in motion (or the engine is turned on) the IID will randomly require the driver to provide another breath sample.  The time between required breath samples is dependent on the calibration of the unit, however typically random breath samples are required every 10 to 20 minutes while the vehicle is in operation.  The purpose behind the random breath sample is to prevent a driver from having a “sober” friend blow into the device starting the vehicle.  If the requested breath sample is not provided or exceeds the required limit, the device will record the incident, warn the driver and then start up an alarm (e.g., lights flashing, horn honking, etc.) until the ignition is turned off, or a clean breath sample has been provided.

Bellingham Ignition Interlock Device
Whatcom County Ignition Interlock
Skagit County Ignition Interlock Device

rcw 46.20.385



A common, but inaccurate belief is that interlock devices will turn off the vehicle’s engine if alcohol is detected.  Due to the fact that this would then create an unsafe or dangerous driving situation that would expose interlock manufacturers to substantial liability, a vehicle’s engine does not turn off if a breath sample detects too much alcohol on a driver’s breath.  It is physically impossible for an interlock device to turn off a running vehicle.

Most of the ignition interlock devices in use today use an ethanol-specific fuel cell for a sensor.  This type of sensor is an electrochemical device where alcohol undergoes a chemical oxidation reaction on a catalytic electrode surface, typically made of platinum to generate an electric current.  This current is then measured and converted to an alcohol equivalent reading.  Fuel cell technology is not nearly as accurate or reliable as the infrared spectroscopy technology used in evidentiary breathalyzers.  However, IIDs are obviously substantially cheaper and smaller and therefore more practical for more widespread use.

The devices keep a running record of the activity on the unit and this record, or log, is printed out or downloaded each time the device's sensors are calibrated, commonly at 30, 60, or 90-day intervals.  In the DUI realm these records are provided to the courts for probation review and to the Department of Licensing in some instances.  If the court still has jurisdiction and a violation is detected the court may require the driver to re-appear and possibly face addition sanctions.

Snohomish County Ignition Interlock Device
Ignition Interlock Device Whatcom County

Arrested for DUI? What you Need to Know!

Ignition Interlock Device Information | Law Firm of David N. Jolly

IGNTION INTERLOCK  Information

LAW FIRM OF DAVID N. JOLLY

 Call for a Free Consultation: (425) 493-1115 | (360) 293-2275

IID QUICK FACTS
Whatcom County Ignition Interlock Device
Law Firm of David N. Jolly Logo

(425) 493-1115 | (360) 336-8722

  • You will be required to have an IID if you are convicted of a DUI
  • You will be required to have an IID at arraignment if you have a prior DUI arrest
  • You must have an IID for 1 year (first DUI), 5 years (2nd DUI), and 10 years (3rd DUI)
  • The average cost of an IID is $120 per month
  • ​Understand how to operate the Ignition Interlock Device
  • Do not use mouthwash prior to driving
  • Do not drink or eat in car (this includes, most notably energy drinks, mints, gum and bread)
  • Do not leave vehicle running and unoccupied
  • Report any mechanical malfunctions to the company​​


Bellingham Ignition Interlock Device Information
Whatcom County Ignition Interlock Device